Posted by: cordiallyakacaroline | October 29, 2009

Great Aunt Anne

Have you ever had someone in your life that you considered your mentor? Have you ever had a person in your family that you see your inner most traits in? For me that person is my Great Aunt Anne.

When I was a little girl I didn’t really know her at all. But, she owned a craft store and one year she arranged with my parents for me to come stay at her house for a couple of weeks and go to the craft store everyday with her. That was so much fun. I got to go to classes that they taught for different crafts. I got to choose anything off the shelves of the store and play with the stuff between the classes. This led to a tradition of staying at Anne’s and having fun.

She ended up buying a huge huge farm called Hyde Park Farm and ran a bed and breakfast from there. The house is ginormous with 18 bedrooms and like 200 years old. The farm is also huge. I loved staying there on different occasions with her. She always made everything fun and exciting.

One night we arrived there late and after talking for a while she jumped up and grabbed my hand. “Quick, come with me! I’ve got something to show you!” she said. It was pitch black outside…really black because her farm is way out in the country. But, she grabbed a flashlight and we made our way across the yard to a barrell turned upside down.

I had no idea what she was doing. (Anne is also known for being a lil bit crazy). Well, she flipped this barrel over and there was a cage built around something under it. She pulled me closer and shinned the light on the ground and there was a bird of some kind (I think a guinea hen) and it had just hatched about 20 lil tiny chicks. The little birds where shocked by the light and began to chirp and wiggle around looking for their mother.

Anne put her arm around my shoulder and we watched the tiny creatures that had just come into this world then she said, “Caroline, how can anybody look at that and not know there is a God in this world?”

Those are words I will never forget. Because, it was truely a miracle and I was privileged to witness it with my Great Aunt Anne.

The last time I saw Anne she had gotten sick and had been taken to an Nursing Home. She was going to be transported to far far away the next day to another nursing home near her daughter. I knew it would probably be the last time I saw her. (I’m crying now…) She looked so horrible lying in the bed…thinking back I hardly ever saw her even sit down. It was so hard saying good-bye to her. I cried sooo sooo hard when I walked out of that room. I don’t think I’ll ever see her again. But, she is a person I’ll never ever forget…and all the things I learned from her mean so much to me.

I LOVE YOU ANNE! MISS YOU….

Responses

  1. thats sweet.. she must have been a great person

  2. Wow – I have a great aunt anne too that I am super close with. She used to live in Niagara Falls but since she has gotten older, she wanted to be closer to us. She is 95 and is still a total spitfire. I 100% respect and adore her.

    Some saturday afternoons I will have her over for some homemade soup, or take her out for a glass of wine and treats in town. You can learn SO much from older people and really grow wise from their stories. It is important to cherish everyone you care for in your life because you never know when things will change.

    I’m sorry for your loss. It is very reassuring to know she is looking over you now and she left behind a large imprint in your heart. It seems she made a dramatic influence in your life.

  3. Thank you for your comment. Your words show a lot of wisdom and are very relevent to me. I am going to post your commments as todays post. Friends of all ages are very important to me. The Christmas season makes you miss some of them more than others. I just found out a few weeks ago that Anne is still alive and doing okay. She’s in a Nursing Home far away…miss her. Perhaps I will get to see her again soon.


Leave a Reply

Categories

