Posted by: cordiallyakacaroline | October 14, 2009

Wet Dreams

I know what you are thinking…but, this is another camping story. I was camping up in the mountains at Orkney Springs. There is a beautiful concert put on there in an outdoor theatre on the grounds of an old motel. The concert is held in July (I think) so it’s blazing hot during the day and then come about 4:00pm the thunderstorms roll in. This particular time they didn’t start until sometime during the night.

I was sleeping in my pup tent and the rain started. It was peaceful and I fell back to sleep. A bit later I awoke to my feet being wet. I tentsandrainsat up and felt around in the dark and found that sure enough the area by my feet was starting to leak. I pulled the sleeping bag up and adjusted everything so that I would stay dry. Then I fell back to sleep to the sound of the rain. A little while later I awoke again. This time I was wet to about my hips and I was cold too. I felt around in the dark again and found that the water was accumulating in the entire end of the tent. I tried to make more adjustments and somehow I managed to fall back to sleep. When I woke up again I was soaked! My pajamas were soaked, my pillow was soaked, my hair was wet. Giving up I got out of the tent and went into the van to sleep. My suitcase was in the van so I found something dry to put on. I was still freezing and now I had no blankets or anything…not even a pillow. So, I took all the clothes from my suitcase and made a pillow out of a shirt, stuffing it with articles of clothing. Then I found a PLASTIC table cloth to use for a blanket. I don’t think I slept the rest of the night. But I tried.

The next morning I had to try to dry blankets, pillows, and a tent out so that I could sleep in peace that night. Needless to say I hate wet dreams!

Responses

  1. lol never go camping when its raining. i did once and the tent leaked a little like enough to get damp but not as much as urs did.


Leave a Reply

Categories

